Skip to content

Decision details

Hillsborough Permit Parking Review

Decision Maker: Cabinet Highways Committee

Decision status: Recommendations Approved

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: Yes



The Executive Director, Place submitted a report informing Members of the comments received following the public consultation on the review of the Hillsborough Permit Parking Scheme, together with recommendations for further work and possible changes to existing parking restrictions.




RESOLVED: That the Committee:-





approves the removal of the following streets from further consultation and survey work adjacent to the current scheme boundary and requests that those people who responded to the consultation be informed:-


·        Burnaby Street

·        Dixon Road

·        Dykes Hall Road

·        Findon Street

·        Garry Road

·        Hammerton Road

·        Hawthorn Road

·        Holme Close

·        Keyworth Road

·        Kirkstone Road

·        Langsett Road

·        Manvers Road

·        Middlewood Road

·        Morley Street

·        Oakland Road

·        Portsea Road

·        Singleton Road, Crescent and Grove

·        Upwood Road

·        Victor Street

·        Walkley Lane

·        Warner Road

·        Wynard Road;






approves further investigation of small changes to the existing scheme as well as roads adjacent to the current boundary as identified in Appendix E to the report and any subsequent Traffic Regulation Orders be advertised; and






approves further survey work on Beechwood Road, Clarence Road, May Road, Leader Road including East View Terrace and Leader Court, Hunter Road, Minto Road, Taplin Road and Thoresby Road and any subsequent Traffic Regulation Orders be advertised to enable these streets to be included in the permit parking scheme.





Reasons for Decision




Based on the responses received from the recent consultation and by comparing results obtained from three previous comprehensive consultations it was recommended to agree the list of recommendations set out in paragraph 7.0 which outlined the next steps of the review process. Any subsequent Traffic Regulation Orders considered necessary by the Head of Transport, Traffic and Parking Services would allow further feedback from both residents and businesses on any planned changes.




Alternatives Considered and Rejected




Officers had considered the content of each individual comment received. Where comments had been made requesting small adjustments it was intended that these would be fully investigated.




One alternative option would be to advertise much larger scale changes based on comments made by some people in the consultation. However, as the general response rates were fairly low on a number of streets this would have resulted in promoting scheme changes which were supported only by a minority and not entirely focused on the majority of customer requirements.




An alternative option for further work would be to include both Keyworth Road and Dixon Road in further surveys or possible legal adverts. The decision not to include both these streets was based not only on results obtained from this consultation but also previous survey and on consultation work. Where there was definitely support for parking restrictions on these streets this was in contrast to much of the surrounding area. It was felt that these streets could not be added to the scheme in isolation as a migration of parking problems was likely to occur. Any promotion of restrictions for the whole area was likely to be unpopular with the majority of residents.




Any Interest Declared or Dispensation Granted








Reason for Exemption if Public/Press Excluded During Consideration








Respective Director Responsible for Implementation




Simon Green, Executive Director, Place




Relevant Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee If Decision Called In




Economic and Environmental Wellbeing


Report author: Cate Jockel

Publication date: 04/03/2013

Date of decision: 14/02/2013

Decided at meeting: 14/02/2013 - Cabinet Highways Committee

Effective from: 23/02/2013

Accompanying Documents: